Elizabeth Craig, Community Service/ Work Program Coordinator
Community Service/Work Program/Diversion Program
Community Service may be ordered as a condition
of County Probation. Community Service involves performing court-ordered
volunteer work at a non-profit agency. Your Leon County Probation Officer
will assign you to an appropriate Community Service agency after the
$30 insurance fee has been paid. You will then be given a “Volunteer Report
Form” that will provide the necessary information regarding your assigned
agency. Once Community Service hours have been completed, the “Volunteer
Report Form” must be turned in to the Probation office. The hours completed
will be verified by the Community Service Coordinator. Hours of
availability are contingent upon each agency’s business hours.
The work program is under the direct supervision of the county’s Public
Works Department. Clients are advised hours of operation are 7:00 am-6pm,
Tuesday-Sunday and they select which days they are available to work. The work
program entails 10 hour days of manual labor on a Leon County work crew,
supervised by a foreman from the Division of Operations. A $35 fee will be
assessed for each client that has an unexcused absence and they will not be allowed
to schedule future dates to work until the fee is paid.
Administrative Order 95-1 authorizes the State Attorney’s Office to
operate a Misdemeanor Diversion Program in accordance with Florida Statute 939
and 944. The defendant must be an offender of an eligible
misdemeanor offense, view an educational video that helps to divert the
defendant from committing other crimes, perform required hours on the Work Program
and pay the required fines and program fees. The following categories of
misdemeanor crimes are eligible: Disorderly Conduct, Disorderly Intoxication,
Petit Theft, Possession of Alcohol by a Minor, Possession of Cannabis, Open
Container Violation, Loitering/Prowling, Unlawful Use of a Driver License,
Unlawful Display of a Driver License, Littering, Use/Possession of Drug
Paraphernalia and Open House Party.
The defendant is given ninety (90) days to complete the
Diversion Program, although this term may be
extended at the discretion of the Misdemeanor Diversion Program Coordinator,
Amy Lee. Ms. Lee can be reached at 850-606-6000.
Upon successful completion of the program a "No Information" is
filed with the clerk, dismissing all charges by the State Attorney's Office.
If you have questions about the Diversion program, please
contact the State Attorney's office at 850-606-6000.
Below please find a list of frequently asked questions
to help with any inquires you may have prior to contacting the appropriate
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Where is the Work Program Office located?
The Work Program Office is located in the Leon County
Courthouse: Probation Division on the 4th Floor, Room 441. The
Leon County Courthouse is located at 301 S. Monroe St. in downtown
Where do I report to work?
You must report to Leon County Operations Center
located at 2280 Miccosukee Road in Tallahassee, Florida. It is one mile
east of Tallahassee Memorial Hospital on the left. See sign that says: “Leon
County Operations”. This is where you will report for in order to
complete your work program days.
What are the hours of operation for the Work
The work program operates every day except Mondays and
holidays. The work day begins promptly at 7:00 a.m. and ends at 5:30 p.m.
Sign-up for the work program is on a “first-come, first-served” basis. Only
a limited number of people can be accommodated each day.
What type of duties will I be required to perform?
You will be informed by the work program staff what
tasks you will be performing when you report for the work program. Tasks may
include the following: litter pick-up, washing equipment, brush cutting,
sweeping floors, raking leaves, making/laying sandbags, hay
stacking/storage, dead animal burial and flagging traffic.
Please Note: The Leon County Work Program
consists of 10 hours of manual labor outdoors. There is no
light duty on the county work program. If you are ordered by the
court to complete work program days, it is expected that you are physically
able to perform manual labor tasks outdoors. If you have a medical condition
that would preclude you from performing manual labor for 10 hours a day,
please inform your Probation Officer prior to signing up for work program
days. If you are on the State Attorney’s Office Diversion Program and you
have a medical condition that would preclude from performing manual labor
for 10 hours a day, please contact the State Attorney’s office at
Do I need to bring an I.D. to the work program?
Yes, all participants are required to present a valid
picture I.D. each time they check in for the work program. You will not be
allowed to work if you do not have a valid picture I.D.
Why do I have to pay $30.00 fee to participate in
the work program?
The $30.00 fee provides insurance coverage for clients
in the event that an injury occurs while participating in the work program.
The insurance provides coverage up to $5,000. Any expenses incurred beyond
the $5,000 limit are the responsibility of the client.
Does the county provide transportation to the work
No, the county does not provide transportation to
the work program. It is your responsibility to arrange transportation to
and from the work program.
Am I allowed to bring a cell phone to the work
Cell phones are not allowed at the work
program under any circumstances. Anyone bringing a cell phone to the
work program will be counted as “Absent” for the day and sent home. Please
leave cell phones in your vehicle or at home – DO NOT bring a cell phone to
the work program.
Is there a telephone I can use at the work site to
call for a ride?
There is a phone available for limited use in the event
you need to call for a ride. Please inform work program staff if you need to
use the phone for this purpose.
Should I report to the work program if the weather
Yes, you should report to the work program in the event
of bad weather. Work program staff will provide further instruction upon
Am I allowed to leave the work site?
Under no circumstances will you be allowed to leave the
work site. You must work the entire 10 hour day in order to be given credit.
If you choose to leave the work site early, you will be counted as “Absent”
for the day and you will be required to pay the $35.00 “No Show” fee before
you will be allowed to sign up for another work day.
If you have questions
about the County Work Program, please contact the Work Program Office at
If you have questions
about conditions of your probation, please contact your probation officer.